The Hardie Press

Music publishers and distributors of music books, Edinburgh

Volume 10 The Complete Music for Violoncello and Pianoforte

Many cellists are unaware that Liszt's contribution to their literature is a significant one. Although the works could all be loosely described as character pieces, such a description would belie the variety of style and intensity of much of the music, which ranges from the lyrical and elegiac to the starkly dramatic. This volume is offered in the hope that many a recital of large-scale cello and piano works might benefit from the inclusion of a shorter work or two by the Hungarian master.
This URTEXT edition, the first to attempt to include all of Liszt’s cello works in one volume, has been prepared from manuscript sources in Liszt's hand, or in the hand of original copyists - often with Liszt's handwritten annotations, with critical comparison with the first editions, and from first edition sources where no manuscript source has been traced. Second edition. (First edition 1992). With the exception of the concluding item, the contents of this second edition remains unchanged and comprises: Élégie (with optional parts for harp and harmonium); Zweite Elegie; Romance oubliée; La lugubre gondola; Die Zelle in Nonnenwerth (first publication); Consolations (with enchainement, also first publication); O du mein holder Abendstern (first publication of a new reconstruction based on a facsimile of the final page of Liszt's manuscript).

Paperback (88, 28, 2, 2 pp)

ISBN: 9780946868322; ISMN 9790708090557


Retail: £19.95

Prices below include p&p.

£23.70 UK First Class

For all enquiries from outside of the UK please visit our contact page here