The Hardie Press

Music publishers and distributors of music books, Edinburgh

Trio sonata in F for 2 violins and continuo

2 violins, cello, hpsd. Composed c.1767. First publication. Some bowings and fingerings given. Grades 6-7.(12 minutes)
1. Andante ma non troppo 2. Allegro spiritoso 3. Tempo di Minuetto. Thomas Erskine, 6th Earl of Kelly, arguably Scotland’s greatest classical composer, was born in Kellie Castle near Pittenweem in Fife. He studied with Johann Stamitz and was the first British composer to write in the Mannheim style. Surviving works include 10 orchestral overtures, 6 trios and c. 20 minuets, all published in Kelly’s lifetime. However, with the discovery of the Kilravock Manuscript in 1989 (this work is the fourth item in that MS) the picture of him as a composer of chamber music for strings has filled out greatly.



Retail: £12.00

Prices below include p&p.

£14.20 UK First Class
£16.95 Europe Airmail

For all enquiries from outside of the UK please visit our contact page here