The Hardie Press

Music publishers and distributors of music books, Edinburgh

Sonata in G for violin and continuo

Violin, optional cello, hpsd. Composed c.1702. First publication. Bowing and fingering provided. Grade 4-5.(6 minutes). 1. Preludio 2. Andante pomposo 3. Aria, allegretto 4. Giga, allegro. Clerk was born at Penicuik House, Midlothian, and studied violin and composition with Arcangelo Corelli in Rome (1697-98). His five chamber cantatas reveal him as a composer of talent. By profession a lawyer, financier and politician, in which latter capacity he was one of the signatories to the Treaty of Union in 1707.

Paperback (12, 4, 4 pp)


Retail: £8.00

Prices below include p&p.

£9.70 UK First Class
£12.30 Europe Airmail

For all enquiries from outside of the UK please visit our contact page here