The Hardie Press

Music publishers and distributors of music books, Edinburgh

Quartet in G minor, op. 6 no. 2

for string quartet or string ensemble with optional harpsichord
1. Allegro con moto, 2. Largo, 3. Allegretto
Composed 1776. Johann Georg Christoph Schetky was born in Darmstadt in 1737. After travelling around Europe as a virtuoso cellist he settled in Edinburgh in 1772. He became a close friend of Robert Burns. This new edition of the Quartet in G minor is its first printing since the original edition of 1777. Imaginative string writing, ambitious harmony and confident forms make it one of the best works written in Edinburgh in the later 18th century.
Duration: 13 minutes
Includes preface and critical commentary.

Full score with separate parts (Vln1 & Vln2, Vla, Cello [Double Bass])

Paperback (20 pp)


Retail: £16.00

Prices below include p&p.

£18.20 UK First Class
£20.95 Europe Airmail

For all enquiries from outside of the UK please visit our contact page here