The Hardie Press

Music publishers and distributors of music books, Edinburgh

Quartet in C minor

for string quartet or string ensemble, with optional keyboard
1. Allegro, 2. Andante, 3. Allegro
Composed c. 1767. The set of three string quartets now available are all distinctly personal to the composer, yet also quite different from each other. The Quartet in C minor is part of the Kilravock Manuscript, written in about 1770 for the Rose family of Kilravock Castle, Inverness-shire, and rediscovered in 1989. Although unpublished during Kelly’s lifetime, a second manuscript from the Duke of Buccleuch’s private collection suggests the work enjoyed some circulation in 18th-century Scotland. So, over 240 years since composed, this edition provides an accurate reconstruction of the text.
Duration: 17 minutes
Includes foreword and critical commentary.

Full score with separate parts (Vln1 & Vln2, Vla, Cello [Double Bass])

Paperback (24, 8, 8, 8, 8 pp)


Retail: £16.00

Prices below include p&p.

£18.20 UK First Class
£20.95 Europe Airmail

For all enquiries from outside of the UK please visit our contact page here