The Hardie Press

Music publishers and distributors of music books, Edinburgh

Quartet in A

for string quartet or string ensemble, with optional keyboard
1. Allegro molto, 2. Adagio, 3. Minuet [Allegro]
Composed c. 1767. The Quartet in A from the Kilravock Manuscript borrows several themes from other composers. The first movement is a tribute to Kelly’s teacher Johann Stamitz of Mannheim, using the same opening as a quartet of Stamitz’s, op. 3 no. 5 (Paris, 1757). The second movement, in contrast, draws its main theme from a concerto grosso by Francesco Barsanti, op. 3, no. 2 (Edinburgh, 1742). The third movement, consisting of a long minuet with a middle section in the tonic minor, is all wholly original.
Duration: 13 minutes
Includes foreword and critical commentary.

Full score with separate parts (Vln1 & Vln2, Vla, Cello [Double Bass])

Paperback (16 pp)


Retail: £16.00

Prices below include p&p.

£18.20 UK First Class
£20.25 Europe Airmail

For all enquiries from outside of the UK please visit our contact page here