The Hardie Press

Music publishers and distributors of music books, Edinburgh

Clarinet Concerto in F

Solo clarinet (or flute, oboe or violin); concertante vn 1, vn 2, vc, hpsd, 2 hns, strings. (19 minutes)

First publication since the 18th century. This, the 2nd (and the only one known to survive) of at least 8 concertos for clarinet by Mahon was composed c.1774. The 1st movement (Allegro) is influenced by Mannheim orchestral style; the 2nd movement (Andante) - the work’s crowning glory - introduces two Scots airs, ‘The Birks of Endermay’ and ‘Roslin Castle’. The 3rd movement (Rondo) is based on a theme from Thomas Arne’s ‘Comus’. John Mahon was born in Oxford, and developed into Britain’s finest clarinettist at a time when virtuosi of the instrument were almost unknown. He first appeared in Edinburgh in 1786 and from 1804-1808 had a permanent address in the city. He eventually retired to Dublin in 1825.
[Instrumental parts are available matching this score.]

Paperback (36 pp)


Retail: £14.00

Prices below include p&p.

£16.20 UK First Class
£18.95 Europe Airmail

For all enquiries from outside of the UK please visit our contact page here